Employee Spotlight – Christie Bueche

What year did you join Lewis & Knopf?

I joined Lewis & Knopf in June of 2016.

Tell me a little about where you attended college and the degree(s) you earned? Any special accomplishments.

I attended Baker College of Flint and graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Accounting and an MBA in Finance. I believe that completing my education while working and raising young kids is an accomplishment!

What is your favorite thing about living in Michigan?

My favorite thing about living in Michigan is being close to my family. We are a small family, but have a talent for throwing big parties. I grew up with strong ties to the Flint area from relationships that my parents and grandparents built. I really enjoy seeing familiar faces around town and sharing stories of Flint.

Tell me a little about your family.

I am married to Tim and we have two girls, Ally (16) and Jackie (14). They are both in High School and they are both cheerleaders. Since I decided to pursue a career in 2016, they have made some significant changes and sacrifices in order for me to focus on a career in public accounting.

I lost my Dad in 2016, shortly after I started at Lewis & Knopf. Not only do I have a great support system at home, I also learned early on that I have great support at L&K. The firm wide acts of kindness were appreciated by my entire family.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?

I do not sleep much, and I still run out of time! I have a lot of ideas!

What is a new skill that you would like to master?

Patience… LOL Ask my husband, kids and co-workers. I think they may be planning an intervention together.

What do you wish you knew more about?

Everything! I have a bit of an addictive personality, when I find something I like, I consume myself with it.

What question would you most like to know the answer to?

All the questions on the CPA exam –  Help me!

What silly accomplishment are you most proud of?

I was once a magician’s assistant.

What is your favorite smell?

Coffee or really good wine.

What was your first job?

My first job was working for my Dad and I was about 5 years old. I learned a lot about hard work and dedication. I require that my kids work to earn money. I hope they learn the same lessons.

Want to learn even more about Christie? Check out her bio!